The Gazette

of India

EXTRAORDINARY

PART I—Section 1

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 139] NEW DELHI, SUNDAY, AUGUST 15, 1954

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY TO THE PRESIDENT

NOTIFICATIONS

New Delhi, the 15th August 1954

No. 40-Pres./54.—The President is pleased to award the Bharat Ratna to:—

Shri Chakravarti RAJAGOPALACHARI.

Shri Sarvapalli RADHAKRISHNAN.

Shri Chandrasekhara Venkata RAMAN.

No. 41-Pres./54.—The President is pleased to make the following awards:—

Padma Vibhushan, Pahela Varg

Shri Bal Gangadhar Kher.

Shri Vengalil Krishnan Krishna Menon.

Shri Nandlal Bose.

Dr. Satyendra Nath Bose.

Dr. Zakir Husain.

Padma Vibhushan, Dusra Varg

Dr. Homi Jehangir Bhabha, Secretary to the Government of India in the Department of Atomic Energy, and Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission.

Dr. Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar, Secretary to the Government of India in the Ministry of Natural Resources and Scientific Research, and Chairman, University Grants Commission.

Shri Mahadeva Iyer Ganapati,
Development Commissioner, Kandla Port Project.

Dr. Jnan Chandra Ghosh,

Vice-Chancellor, Calcutta University.

Shri Maithilisharan Gupta, Hindi Poet, Jhansi, Uttar Pradesh.

Shri Radha Krishna Gupta, Chief Engineer, Projects, Bhakra-Nangal, Punjab.

Shri Raghunath Rai Handa,

Chief Engineer, Bhakra Canals, Punjab.

Shri Amarnath Jha,

Chairman, Bihar Public Service Commission.

Shri Ajudhia Nath Khosla,

lately Chairman, Central Water and Power Commission.

Dr. Kariamanikkam Srinivasa Krishnan,

Director, National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi

Moulana Husain Anmed Madni, Principal, "Madrasatul Ulema", Deoband.

Shri Josh Malihabadi, Urdu Poet, Delhi.

Shri Vaikunth Lallubhai Mehta, Chairman, All-India Khadi and Village Industries Board.

Shri Vallathol Narayan' Menon, Malayalam Poet.

Dr. Arcot Lakshmanaswami Mudaliar. Vice-Chancellor, Madras University.

Shri Vyakarana Narahari Rao, lately Comptroller and Auditor-General of India.

Shri Jamini Roy, Artist, Calcutta.

Shri Satyanarayan Shastri, Ayurvedic Physician.

Shrimati Madurai Shanmugavadivu Subbalakshmi, Madras.

Padma Vibhushan, Tisra Varg

Shrimati Asha Devi Arayanayakam, Wardha.

Dr. Bir Bhan Bhatia.

Professor of Medicine, Gandhi Memorial Medical College, Lucknow.

Shrimati Perin Captain, Bombay.

Shri Kshitish Ranjan Chakrayarty, Chief Technologist, Sindri.

Kumari Amalaprava Das, . Gauhati, Assam.

Shri Surinder Kumar Dey, Administrator, Community Projects

Shri Govind Lal, Executive Engineer, Bist Doab Canal, Punjab.

Dr. Vasant Ramji Khanolkar, Director, Indian Cancer Research Centre, Tata Memorial Hospital, Bombay.

Shrimati Achamma Mathai, Bombay.

Dr. Mathra Das,

Eye Surgeon, Punjab.

Shrimati Bhag Mehta, Recovery Organisation, Ministry of External Affairs.

Shri Akhil Chandra Mitra, Chief Engineer, Irrigation Department, Uttar Pradesh.

Shri Apa Saheb Bala Saheb Pant, lately Commissioner for India in East Africa.

Shri Shankar Pillai, Editor, Shankar's Weekly, New Delhi.

Shrimati Mrinmayie Ray Founder of the Jitendra Narayan Ray Infant and Nursery School, Calcutta.

Shri Khushi Ram Sharma, Superintending Engineer, Punjab.

Shri Machani Somappa, Member, All-India Handloom Board, Ministry of Commerce & Industry.

Shri Tarlok Singh, Joint Secretary, Planning Commission.

> SHAVAX A. LAL, Secretary to the President.