The Gazette



of **Endia**

EXTRAORDINARY

PART 1—Section 1

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 9] NEW DELHI, WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 26, 1955

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY TO THE PRESIDENT

NOTIFICATIONS

New Delhi, the 26th January 1955

No. 7-Pres./55.—The President is pleased to award the Bharat Ratna to:—

Dr. Bhagwan Das of Banaras.

Shri Mokshagundam Visvesvaraya.

No. 8-Pres./55.—The President is pleased to make the following awards:—

Padma Vibhushan

Karve, Dr. Dhondo Keshav.

Tata, Shri Jehangir Ratanji Dadabhai.

Padma Bhushan

Badhwar, Shri Fateh Chand;

formerly Chairman, Railway Board.

Banerjee, Dr. Lalit Mohan;

Surgeon, Calcutta.

Chatterji, Dr. Suniti Kumar;

formerly Professor of Comparative Philology, Calcutta.

Chattopadhyaya, Shrimati Kamaladevi;

New Delhi.

Dey, Shri Surinder Kumar;

Administrator, Community Projects, New Delhi.

Hanumantha Rao, Shri Madapati;

Hyderabad.

Khanolkar, Dr. Vasant Ramji;

Director, Indian Cancer Research Centre, Tata Memorial Hospital, Bombay.

Khungar, Shri Sunder Das; General Manager, Bhakra Dam Project.

Nehru, Shrimati Rameshwari; Honorary Adviser to the Ministry of Rehabilitation, New

Parija, Dr. Pran Krushna; Pro-Chancellor, Utkal University.

Delhi.

Thacker, Professor Maneklal Sankalchand; Director, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.

Venkata Acharya, Shri Attur Rangaswami; Retired Chief Engineer, Irrigation, Madras.

Padma Shri

Benjamin, Dr. Parakath Verghese; Tuberculosis Adviser, Ministry of Health, New Delhi.

Clubwalla Jadhav, Shrimati Mary; Madras.

Currimbhoy, Shrimati Zarina; Bombay.

Handiqui, Shri Krishna Kant; Vice-Chancellor, Gauhati University.

Joglekar, Shri Digambar Vasudev; Hydraulic Research Station, Poona.

Kaul, Dr. Siddha Nath; Eye-Specialist, New Delhi.

Kewal Singh Choudhary, Shri; Chief Commissioner, Pondicherry.

Maneckji, Shri Maneck Jehangir Bhickaji; Commandant, Home Guards, Bombay.

Mehray, Dr. Mahesh Prasad; Eye-Surgeon, Sitapur, Uttar Pradesh.

Mirza, Shri Humayun; Ministry of External Affairs, New Delhi.

Rahman, Shri Habib-ur-;
Architect, Central Public Works Department, New Delhi.

Sahu, Shri Laxmi Narayan; Author, Orissa.

Shastri, Shrimati Rattan; Banasthali Vidyapith, Jaipur.

Thakore, Pandit Onkar Nath; College of Music, Banaras.

> C. S. VENKATACHAR, Secretary to the President.



of **Xndia**

EXTRAORDINARY

PART I-Section 1

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 94] NEW DELHI, FRIDAY, JULY 15, 1955

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY TO THE PRESIDENT NOTIFICATION

New Delhi, the 15th July 1955.

No. 21-Pres./55.—The President is pleased to award the Bharat Ratna to:—

Shri Jawaharlal Nehru.

P. D. DESHMUKH, Secretary to the President.