

EXTRAORDINARY

PART I-Section 1

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 11] NEW DELHI, SATURDAY, JANUARY 26, 1957

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY TO THE PRESIDENT

NOTIFICATIONS

New Delhi, the 26th January 1957

No. 10-Pres./57.—The President is pleased to award the Bnarat Ratna to:—

Shri Govind Ballabh Pant.

No. 11-Pres./57.—The President is pleased to make the following awards:—

PADMA VIBHUSHAN

Shri Sri Prakasa.

Shri Motilal Chimanlal Setalvad, Attorney-General, India.

Shri Ghanshyamdas Birla.

PADMA BHUSHAN

Dr. Abid Husain, Professor of Literature, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi.

Dr. Bhikham Lal Atreya, Head of the Department of Philosophy, Banaras Hindu University.

Shrimati T. Balasaraswathy, Bharata-Natyam Artist.

Dr. Rm. Alagappa Chettiar, Philanthropist of Madras.

Dr. Hazari Prasad Dwivedi, Head of the Department of Hindi, Banaras Hindu University.

Shrimati Lakshmi N. Menon, M.P.

Dr. Radha Kumud Mookerji, M.P.

Ustad Mushtaq Husain Khan, Musician.

Shri K. A. Nilakanta Sastri, Historian and Indologist.

Dr. Kishakke Covilagam Kutti Ettan Raja, formerly Director-General of Health Services, Government of India.

- Shrimati Andal Venkatasubba Rao, Founder, Seva Sadan, Madras.
- Pandit Shrikrishna N. Ratanjankar, Musician, Vice-Chairman of Audition Board, All India Radio.
- Shri Syamnandan Sahaya, Vice-Chancellor, Bihar University.
- Shri Govind Sakharam Sardesai, Maharashtra Historian.
- Shri Boshi Sen, Scientist, Vivekananda Laboratory, Almora, Uttar Pradesh.
- Dr. Siddheshwar Varma, Sanskrit Scholar and Philologist.

PADMA SHRI

- Shri Jashwantrai Jayantilal Anjaria, Economic Adviser to the Government of India.
- Shri Balbir Singh, Captain, Indian Olympic Hockey Team.
- Shri Atmaram Ramchand Chellani, Superintending Engineer, Hirakud.
- Shri L. M. Chitale, Architect, Madras.
- Shri Narayanaswami Dharmarajan, Superintending Engineer (Electrical), Hirakud.
- Shri Ram Parkash Gehlote, Senior Architect, Central Public Works Department.
- Major-General Gurbaksh Singh, General Officer Commanding, East Punjab Area.
- Shri Thakkadu Natesasastrigal Jagadisan, Secretary, Hind Kusht Nivaran Sangh.
- Major Ralengnao Khathing, Political Officer, North East Frontier Agency.
- Shri Sudhir Ranjan Khastgir, Principal, Government School of Arts and Crafts, Lucknow.
- Dr. Khushdeva Singh, Tuberculosis Officer, Patiala.
- Shri Dwaram Venkataswami Naidu, Musician.
- Shrimati Nalini Bala Devi, Authoress and Poetess, Assam.
- Shri Krishnaswami Ramiah, Scientist, and formerly Director, Central Rice Research Institute, Cuttack.
- Dr. Shiyali Ramamritha Ranganathan, Professor of Library Science, Delhi University.
- Shri Samarendranath Sen, Chairman, International Commission for Supervision and Control, Laos.

C. S. VENKATACHAR, Secy.