The Gazette



of **Endia**

EXTRAORDINARY PART I—Section 1 PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 11] NEW DELHI, THURSDAY, JANUARY 26, 1961/MAGHA 6, 1882

PRESIDENT'S SECRETARIAT

NOTIFICATIONS

New Delhi, the 26th January 1961

No. 3-Pres./61.—The President is pleased to award the BHARAT RATNA to:—

Shri Bidhan Chandra Roy.

Shri Purushottam Das Tandon.

No. 4-Pres./61.—The President is pleased to make the following awards:—

PADMA BHUSHAN

Shri Ardeshir Ruttonji Wadia, Director, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Bombay.

Shri Bhagwan Sahay, Chief Commissioner, Delhi.

Seth Govind Das, M.P., Hindi Writer, Jabalpur.

Dr. Krishnaswamy Venkataraman, Director, National Laboratory, Poona.

Shri Lakshminarayan Aiyar Venkatakrishna Iyer, Special Chief Engineer, Andhra Pradesh.

Shri Niranjan Das Gulhati, Additional Secretary to the Government of India, Ministry of Irrigation and Power, New Delhi.

Shri Rai Krishnadas, Kala Bhavan, Banaras Hindu University.

Dr. Rustomji Bomonji Billimoria, Tuberculosis Expert, Bel-Air Sanatorium, Poona.

Shri Sumitra Nandan Pant, Poet, Allahabad,

Shri Svetoslav Roerich, Tataguni Estate, Pangalore.

Dr. Tridib Nath Banerjee, Physician, Patna.

Dr. Verrier Elwin, Honorary Adviser (Tribal) NEFA Administra-

Shri Vindhyeshwari Prasad Varma, Speaker, Bihar Legislative Assembly.

PADMA SHRI

Shri Agaram Krishnamachar, Chief Engineer, Chambal Hydel and Irrigation Project, Madhya Pradesh.

Shri Amal Kumar Shah, Principal, Calcutta Blind School, Calcutta.

Shri Bhagwat Sinha Mehta, Chief Secretary to the Government of Rajasthan.

Shri Bismillah Khan, Musician, Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh.

Dr. Brahm Prakash, Head of the Metallurgical Division, Atomic Energy Establishment, Trombay.

Miss Evangeline Lazarus, Educationist, Madras.

Dr. (Miss) Hilda Mary Lazarus, Waltair, Visakhapatnam, South India.

Brigadier Gyan Singh, Principal, Himalavan Mountaineering Institute, Darjeeling.

Bibi Harparkash Kaur, Social and Educational Worker, Ludhiana, Punjab.

Muni Shri Jin Vijayji, Director, Oriental Research Institute, Jodhpur.

Shrimati Kamalabai Hospet, Social Worker, Nagpur.

Shri Kartar Singh Dewana, Agriculturist, Punjab.

Shri Kattingeri Krishna Hebbar, Artist, Bombay.

Professor Mambillikalathil Govind Kumar Menon, Dean of the Physics Faculty, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Bombay.

Shri Man Mohan Suri, Mechanical Engineering Officer, Indian Railways.

Shrimati Mithuben Petit, Social Worker, Surat,

Shri Martand Ramachandra Jamdar, Headmaster, Muka-Badhir Vidyalaya, Poona.

Shri Neyyadupakkam Duraiswami Sundaravodivelu, Educationist, Madras.

Dr. Parsuram Misra, Educationist and Scientist, Sambalpur, Orissa.

Shri Premendra Mitra, Poet, Calcutta,

Shri Raghunath Krishna Phadke, Sculptor, Dhar, Madhya Pradesh.

Shri Soman Narboo, Superintending Engineer, Ladakh, Jammu and Kashmir.

Shri Veerangowda V. Patil, Social Worker, Mysore.

Shri Vinayak Krishna Gokak, Director, Central Institute of English, Osmania University, Hyderabad.

Shri Vishnukant Jha, Sanskrit Scholar and Astrologer, Bihar.

Shri Vithalrao Eknathrao Vikhe Patil, Agriculturist, Ahmednagar.

A. V. PAI Secretary.