

of India

\_\_\_\_\_

# EXTRAORDINARY

#### PART I—Section 1

## PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

NEW DELHI, SATURDAY, JANUARY 26, 1963/MAGHA 6, 1884 No. 15]

#### PRESIDENT'S SECRETARIAT

## NOTIFICATION

New Delhi, the 26th January 1963

No. 11-Pres./63.—The President is pleased to make the following awards:--

#### BHARAT RATNA

Dr. Zakir Husain.

Dr. Pandurang Vaman Kane,

#### PADMA VIBHUSHAN

Shri Hari Vinayak Pataskar.

Dr. Arcot Lakshamanaswami Mudaliar, Vice-Chancellor, University of Madras, Madras,

Dr. Suniti Kumar Chatterji, Chairman, West Bengal Legislative Council.

#### PADMA BHUSHAN

- Dr. Badri Nath Prasad, Emeritus Professor of Mathematics, Allahabad University.
- Major General Sardar Harnarain Singh, Military Secretary to the President.
- Dr. Kanuri Lakshmana Rao, Engineer and Member of Parliament, Andhra Pradesh.

Dr. M. L. Soni, Dental Surgeon, Delhi.

Pandit Makhanlal Chaturvedi, Hindi Author and Litterateur, Madhya Pradesh.

Dr. N. N. Bery, Dental Surgeon, Delhi,

Shri Nitish Chandra Laharry, Rotarian, Calcutta.

Shri Omeo Kumar Das, Public Worker, Assam.

- Shri R. G. Saraiya, Chairman, Maharashtra State Road Transport.
- Shri Rahul Sankritayan, Scholar and Writer.
- Dr. Ram Kumar Verma, Hindi Litterateur, Uttar Pradesh.
- Shri Tiruvenkata Rajendia Seshadri, Professor and Head of the Department of Chemistry, Delhi University.

## PADMA SHRI

Shri Ahindra Chowdhury, Dramatist, Calcutta.

Shri Bishan Man Singh, Farmer, Uttar Pradesh.

- Shri Brij Krishan Chandiwala, Convener, Delhi Branch of Bharat Sewak Samaj, Delhi.
- Lt.-Colonel George William Gregory Bird, Officer-in-charge, Blood Transfusion Department and Associate Professor in the Armed Forces Medical College, Poona.

The Reverend Joel Lakra, Social Worker, Bihar.

Shri K. C. Johorey, Political Officer, Bomdi La.

Rana Krishnadev Narain Singh, Deputy Commissioner, Tezpur.

Shrimati Leela Sumant Mulgaonkar, Social Worker, Maharashtra.

Shri Mehboob Khan, Film Producer, Bombay.

Shri Melville DeMellow, Broadcaster, All India Radio.

- Shri Mushtaq Ali, Cricketer, Indore.
- Shri N. G. K. Murti, Chief Engineer, Koyna Hydro-Electric Project, Maharashtra.
- Dr. Nani Chandra Bordoloi, Superintendent, Mental Hospital, Tezpur.
- Shri Noshir Framroze Suntook, Deputy Commissioner, Tuensang District, Nagaland.
- Shrimati Piloo M. Maneckji, Worker in Home Guards and Civil Defence Movement, Maharashtra.

Shri Purnendu Kumar Banerjee, Chargé d'Affaires, Peking.

- Shri S. S. Yadav, Assistant Political Officer, Tuting.
- Shri Sisir Kumar Lahiri, Director-General, Lighthouses and Lightships, Delhi.
- Dr. Sohrabji Pestonji Shroff, Eye Specialist, Delhi.

Shri Sumat Kishore Jain, Civil Engineer, Uttar Pradesh.

S. DUTT, Secretary to the President.

Professor Rashid Ahmed Siddiqi, Urdu Writer.