

EXTRAORDINARY

PART I-Section 1

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 13] NEW DELHI, MONDAY, JANUARY 26, 1959/MAGH 6, 1880

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY TO THE PRESIDENT NOTIFICATION

New Delhi, the 26th January, 1959

No. 3-Pres./59.—The President is pleased to make the following awards:—

PADMA VIBHUSHAN

Dr. John Matthai.

Dr. Radha Binode Pal.

Shri Gaganvihari Lallubhai Mehta.

PADMA BHUSHAN

Shri Ali Yavar Jung, Ambassador of India, Belgrade.

Shri Bhargavram Vithal Warerkar, Author and Playwright in Marathi, Bombay.

Shri Bhaurao Payagounda Patil, Educationist and Social Worker, Bombay.

Shrimati Dhanvanthi Rama Rau, Social Worker, Bombay.

Shri Ghulam Yazdanı, Archaeologist, Hyderabad.

Shrimati Hansa Manubhai Mehta, Social Worker, formerly Vice-Chancellor, Baroda University.

Dr. Jal Cawasha Paymaster, Chief Surgeon and Superintendent, Tata Cancer Institute, Bombay.

Shri Kankanhalli Vasudevacharya, Musician and Composer of Karnatic Music, Madras.

Shri Nirmal Kumar Sidhanta, Vice-Chancellor, Calcutta University.

Shrı Pammal Sambanda Mudalıar, Playwright in Tamil, Madras.

Shri Ramdhari Sinha Dinkar, Hindi Poet and Author, Monghyr, Bihar.

Shri Sisir Kumar Bhaduri, Stage Director and Artiste, Calcutta

Shri Tenzing Norkay, Himalayan Mountaincering Institute, Darjeeling.

Shri Tiruppattur Ramuseshaiyar Venkatachala Murthi, Professor of Indian Civilization and Culture, Banaras Hindu University.

PADMA SHRI

- Dr. Atma Ram, Director, Central Glass and Ceramic Research Institute, Jadavpur, Calcutta.
- Dr. Badri Nath Uppal, Agricultural Commissioner, Indian Council of Agricultural Research.
- Shri Balwant Singh Nag, Chief, Natural Resources Division, Planning Commission.
- Shri Ganesh Govind Karkhanis, Vice-President, Harijan Sewak Sangh, Mysore.
- Shri Homi Nusserwanji Sethna, Chief Chemical Engineer, Atomic Energy Establishment, Trombay.
- Shri Komaravolu Chandrasekharan, Professor, School of Mathematics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Bombay.
- Shri Lakshman Singh Jangpangi, Indian Trade Agent in Western Tibet.
- Shri Manohar Balwant Diwan, Dattapur, Kushta Dham, Wardha.
- Shri Mathew Kandakhil Mathulla, Managing Director, Hindustan Machine Tools, Bangalore.
- Shri Mihir Sen, Channel Swimmer, Barrister-at-Law, Calcutta.
- Jemadar Milkha Singh, Athlete, Southern Command, Secunderabad.
- Shri Om Parkash Mathur, Executive Engineer, Central Public Works Department, Gangtok, Sikkim.
- Shri Onkar Srinivasa Murthy, Director (Planning), Railway Board.
- Shri Parameshwari Kuttappa Panikkar, Director of Exhibitions, Ministry of Commerce & Industry.
- Shri Parixitlal Majmudar, President, Gujerat Harijan Sewak Sangh, Ahmedabad.
- Shri Prataprai Girdharlal Mehta, Chairman, Lalitkala Academy, Jaipur.
- Shrimati Ratnamma Issac, Social Worker, Bangalore.
- Shrimati Shailabala Das, Social Worker, Cuttack.
- Dr. Shivajirao Patwardhan, Leprosy Worker, Bombay.
- Shri Surendra Nath Kar, formerly Principal, Kala Bhavan, Shantiniketan.

A. V. PAI, Secretary to the President